Working and Writing the Woods

creek in the woods

Working and Writing in the Woods | 2006-present

Location: The Cabin at Shotpouch Creek

Spring Creek Project hosts Working and Writing the Woods gatherings twice a year, in spring and fall, at the Cabin at Shotpouch Creek. During these all-day events, we begin by working on the land together — doing projects such as planting cedars, restoring trails, removing invasive blackberry and weeding the garden. In the afternoon, we meet back up for lunch and then gather in the cabin for a free writing workshop.

This program is free and available to anyone, including students and community members. All levels of writing experience are welcome. Space at the cabin is limited, so registration for these events is required. We always announce Working and Writing the Woods first in our newsletter. Please join our newsletter list to receive notices about the next gathering.

Connecting to the Shotpouch land is an important part of Spring Creek Project’s history as an organization, which we invite you to learn about in our story.

group at shotpouch cabin in the living room
two people standing next to a mossy tree at shotpouch cabin in the woods
two people working on the garden outside of shotpouch cabin
a group of people looking at foraged mushrooms and fungi at shotpouch cabin
view from the front deck at shotpouch cabin
a group of people looking at foraged mushrooms and fungi at shotpouch cabin
individuals working on the landscaping around shotpouch cabin
close up shot of shotpouch cabin on the exterior

Past Workshop Leaders

We invite an experienced writer to lead the workshop portion of each Working and Writing the Woods. Occasionally, the workshop will include an element beyond writing. For instance, one included a mushroom walk by an expert mycologist as well as a poetry workshop. Workshop leaders over the years have included:

  • Joni Whitworth and Brittany Marcotte (fall 2023)
  • Joe Wilkins (spring 2023)
  • Amy Mill (spring 2022)
  • Nathaniel Brodie (spring 2019)
  • Scot Siegel (fall 2018)
  • Karen Holmberg (spring 2018)
  • Ellen Waterston (fall 2016)
  • David Lukas (spring 2016)
  • John Campbell (fall 2015)
  • Cathleen Corlett (spring 2015)
  • Jeff Fearnside (fall 2014)
  • Matt Love (spring 2013)
  • Jen Richter (fall 2013)
  • Jennifer Boyden (spring 2013)
  • Peter Sears (fall 2012)
  • Ana Maria Spagna (spring 2012)
  • Henry Hughes (fall 2011)
  • Kim Stafford (spring 2011)
  • John Larison (spring 2010)
  • Ingrid Wendt (fall 2009)
  • Ann Staley (spring 2008)
  • Charles Goodrich (fall 2008)
  • Judith Barrington (spring 2007)
  • Joanne Mulcahy (fall 2006)